est. 1987

I Solemnly Swear

You can finish the rest. Happy 2011 and all that hooplah darlings. Nursing your hangovers and that extra 5-10lbs you gained over the season? That’s good, that’s good.

As for me my first day of 2011 has just begun and I do not have a hangover. I actually only had 2 beers, impressive considering I drink more during the casual card game these days. I finished off the year quietly, playing my new Super Mario Bros on my DS. Good game. Lots of cursing on my part. In fact, I missed the ball dropping (which I believe is symbolic for puberty or something, proving that if America was a person it’d be a male, or a confused woman). Am I disappointed? No. I can’t help but feel a certain amount of depression when I hear Dick Clark speak now. So I don’t watch.

The crowds of party-goers would have had a particular pang for me anyway this year. As you know – from the pen name of this blog – I recently graduated. Recently. It’s nearly been a year. I’m a social person. Or, moreso, I was a social person. In college your friends (at least the ones you make down there) are close at hand. You do stupid things, at any time, on any day. Even when you shouldn’t be. You come home and those friends that you’ve had for the past 4 years are all so far away. The ones you had before college are estranged because you went away for the majority of the time for 4 years.

In short, you’re left with a dilemma of wondering if you’ll ever have a social life again. Right now I’m torn. I wish to go to Hanover and be with the friends I have there that didn’t graduate yet. I wish my friends that HAVE (and thus spread to the four corners of the universe) would be there, too. On the other hand I wish to re-establish and strengthen those friendships I had before I tottered off to college as was expected of me. Believe it or not, and… It’s probably very hard to believe to a few in particular, I miss them. I miss them very very much and found it difficult not contact them coming up on the New Year to hang out.

…it’s hard to worm your way back in to people’s lives when they’ve had 4 years’ time to socialize more and make new friends, new friends that don’t know you and that, well, yes. Hm.

On that depressing binge of blog update, I’ll get to the point. I recently posted in status updates that I was going to be more social this year, and I want to stick by that. I want to see my friends. So… all of you should move to Ft Wayne. I have a basement. I can share my bed. I do have 3 cats but only one is a naggy bitch. The other two are sweethearts that will beg for food, drink, and cuddles. We have a penchant for watching BBC America, so yes, Direct TV. The bathroom is kinda small but I trust all you guys. ❤

All kidding aside, I do want to be more social. I may not need a boyfriend but I need my friends, or I’m a miserable hermit that only snarks and spites everything. SAVE ME FROM MYSELF THIS YEAR.

 

Leave a Reply

